The 47th annual Daytime Emmy nominations announced

Posted Thursday, May 21, 2020 11:53:38 AM

Let the Daytime Emmy Awards game begin! The 2020 nominees were announced during a special episode of CBS' The Talk today, and the list of talent chosen to vie for Emmy statues is one for the books.

While everyone in the entertainment business assumed that the glitz and glamour of the 47th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards would be zilch this year due to setbacks and cancellations caused by the coronavirus pandemic, the excitement has actually been amped up several notches. The awards ceremony will be returning to television via a broadcast on CBS on Friday, June 26, and the official nominees set to compete in the event were just announced via The Talk and ETOnline. Let's just say, it's going to be an exciting race!

The competition was fierce this year, with The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) reporting that it received 2,700 submissions to compete in its 100 categories honoring individuals and programs broadcast between 2 AM and 6 PM, as well as certain digital and syndicated programming. ABC's General Hospital led the pack with a total of 23 nominations, including ten acting nominations.

If it seems that this year's announcement was later than normal, that's because it was. The official nomination announcement was originally scheduled to take place in April, but NATAS CEO and President Adam Sharp revealed in mid-April that the organization bumped the date to May because "we extended our judging window somewhat to account for [the current health concerns]." (As a reminder, the pre-nomination process was scrapped this year.)

As Soap Central previously reported, NATAS implemented some new submission rules this year, including allowing all of the eligible performers to enter the category they feel best fit their gender identity. The Outstanding Younger Actor and Younger Actress in a Drama Series categories were merged into a non-gender specific Outstanding Younger Performer in a Drama Series category. Somewhat ironically, all of this year's Younger Performer nominees ended up being female. Other changes were implemented for creative categories, which you can read more about here.

And without further ado, here are the nominations for the 47th annual Daytime Emmy Awards in the major categories. To review all of the nominations, including the Creative Arts and Technical categories, click here

Outstanding Drama Series

The Bold and the Beautiful

Days of our Lives

General Hospital

The Young and the Restless

Outstanding Lead Actor

Steve Burton (Jason Morgan, General Hospital)

Thorsten Kaye (Ridge Forrester, The Bold and the Beautiful)

Jon Lindstrom (Kevin Collins and Ryan Chamberlain, General Hospital)

Thaao Penghlis (Tony DiMera, Days of our Lives)

Jason Thompson (Billy Abbott, The Young and the Restless)

Outstanding Lead Actress

Finola Hughes (Anna Devane, General Hospital)

Katherine Kelly Lang (Brooke Logan, The Bold and the Beautiful)

Heather Tom (Katie Logan, The Bold and the Beautiful)

Maura West (Ava Jerome, General Hospital)

Arianne Zucker (Nicole Walker, Days of our Lives)

Outstanding Supporting Actor

Mark Grossman (Adam Newman, The Young and the Restless)

Bryton James (Devon Hamilton, The Young and the Restless)

Wally Kurth (Justin Kiriakis, Days of our Lives)

Chandler Massey (Will Horton, Days of our Lives)

James Patrick Stuart (Valentin Cassadine, General Hospital)

Paul Telfer (Xander Cook, Days of our Lives)

Outstanding Supporting Actress

Tamara Braun (Kim Nero, General Hospital)

Rebecca Budig (Hayden Barnes, General Hospital)

Susan Seaforth Hayes (Julie Williams, Days of our Lives)

Christel Khalil (Lily Winters, The Young and the Restless)

Annika Noelle (Hope Logan, The Bold and the Beautiful)

Outstanding Younger Performer

Sasha Calle (Lola Rosales, The Young and the Restless)

Olivia Rose Keegan (Claire Brady, Days of our Lives)

Katelyn MacMullen (Willow Tait, General Hospital)

Eden McCoy (Josslyn Jacks, General Hospital)

Thia Megia (Haley Chen, Days of our Lives)

Outstanding Guest Performer

Elissa Kapneck (Sasha, The Young and the Restless)

Michael Knight (Martin Grey, General Hospital)

Eva LaRue (Celeste Rosales, The Young and the Restless)

Jeffrey Vincent Parise (Simon Black, The Young and the Restless)

Chrishell Stause (Jordan Ridgeway, Days of Our Lives)

CBS' June 26 telecast of the 47th annual Daytime Emmy Awards will showcase the leading Daytime Emmy categories, with winners and special guests appearing from home. Additional categories will be announced at the same time on Twitter, while others will be presented in a separate ceremony in July.

There's no word yet on who will host this year's telecast, but The Talk's Sheryl Underwood and Access Hollywood's Mario Lopez (ex-Dr. Christian Ramírez, The Bold and the Beautiful) have hosted every year since 2016.


What do you think about the official nominees for this year's Daytime Emmy race? Who are you especially excited to see make the list? Is there anyone you hoped would make the final list but unfortunately did not? We want to hear from you -- and there are many ways you can share your thoughts.

Post a Comment Share on Facebook Tweet this Submit Feedback
Related Information


© 1995-2023 Soap Central, LLC. Home | Contact Us | Advertising Information | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Top