Korman Pulls Off Stunning Dankies Win

Posted Sunday, February 03, 2002 7:26:24 PM
Vertical PS Soap Banner
Korman Pulls Off Stunning Dankies Win

CLICK HERE to skip over the commentary and analysis of the nominations and vote directly on the 'all soaps' final ballot.

The winners of Dankies in each of the ten soap opera sections have now been announced. To find out what happened in other soap balloting, click on the links below. And don't forget to cast your vote in the "All Soaps" edition of the Dankies!

All My Children
As The World Turns
The Bold and the Beautiful
Days of our Lives
General Hospital
Guiding Light
One Life to Live
Port Charles
The Young and the Restless

Two things stand out in the final results of this year's Passions edition of the Soap Opera Central awards: First, no one performer dominated the awards. Second, there were some pretty big surprises when the final votes were tallied.

Galen Gering (Luis Lopez-Fitzgerald) and Mackenzie Westmore (Sheridan Crane) continued their winnings ways. Like last year, both Gering and Westmore were multiple awards winners.

Westmore picked up a second straight Outstanding Lead Actress trophy. It should be noted that Westmore's margin of victory was substantially smaller this time around. Westmore also scored a second consecutive victory in the Most Attractive Actress field.

Gering, meanwhile, picked up his back-to-back win in the Outstanding Lead Actor field. Gering also earned a repeat win in the Most Attractive Actor field.

Josh Ryan Evans picked up his very first Outstanding Supporting Actor crown. Last year, Evans was edged out by Donn Swaby (Chad Harris). Evans, however, failed to pick up a second straight Outstanding Younger Performer win. This year, Lindsay Korman (Theresa Lopez-Fitzgerald) earned the award. Korman's win marked her very first Dankies victory.

But it would not be her only win.

Korman pulled off a stunning victory in the Outstanding Overall Performer category. The Overall Performer category features the 16 nominees from the Outstanding Lead and Supporting Actor and Actress categories. Voters are then asked to select the one performer that put on the best overall performance over the past year. It had been widely expected that either Gering or Westmore would win the category. Last year, Westmore coasted to a very comfortable win in the field. This year, however, the voting was much, much closer and Korman placed first with 17% of the vote. Ben Masters (Julian Crane) finished second both this year and last year. Westmore placed third.

Another first-time winner this year was Eva Tamargo Lemus (Pilar Lopez-Fitzgerald). Lemus scored a fairly decisive victory in the Outstanding Supporting Actress field. This was Lemus' first nomination in this category; she had been nominated in the Lead Actress field last year.

Though she's seen more often than some of the show's contract players, Andrea Evans (Rebecca Hotchkiss) remains in recurring status with Passions. It was this status, however, that allowed Evans to cruise to victory in the Outstanding Special Guest/Recurring Performer category.


Related Information


© 1995-2022 Soap Central, LLC. Home | Contact Us | Advertising Information | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Top